Click to visit 'SeaVision Technologies'

2012 National Engineering Excellence Award Winner

27 November 2012

The SeaUrchin™ tidal energy turbine has been awarded one of the top honours at the Engineers Australia National Awards Ceremony held at Parliament House Canberra on 20 November 2012

Having won the Innovation in Sustainable Engineering Award and an Excellence Award and been named the Overall Winner by the Newcastle Division of Engineers Australia in May 2012, the SeaUrchin project competed against 42 finalists comprising some of Australia's largest and most complex engineering projects for the national awards.  These  included: Sustainable solutions for the Glenfield commuter car park entered by Transport for NSW;  Westfield Sydney project entered by Hyder Consulting;  Metricon Stadium entered by Arup and the Control System for Brisbane's North-South (Clem 7) Bypass Tunnel entered by UGL Pty Ltd.

In such outstanding company ( ), Elemental Energy Technologies (EET) and its partners, ATSA Defence Services, e3k and RPC Technologies, were very proud recipients of a National Engineering Excellence Award.

"ATSA Defence Services is very proud to have played a key role in the SeaUrchin™ Project" said ATSA's  Engineering Director Darren Burrowes. "ATSA provided a highly effective engineering development team that designed the SeaUrchin™ generator, developed the prototype and completed proof-of-concept and performance trials". Overall Project Management was provided by ATSA using skills and capabilities developed as an SME working on provision of support for strategic capabilities to the Royal Australian Navy.

Engineers Australia announces national engineering excellence awards project winners.pdf

ATSA Engineering Director Darren Burrowes with joint-entrants Michael Urch (EET), Tony Caristo and Pierre Gouhier (RPC) and Ray Hope in the Great Hall of Parliament House, Canberra after receiving the National Engineering Excellence Award.

Copyright © ATSA Defence Services Disclaimer